Air Canada Domestic 787 YVR-YYZ Business Class Flight

After waiting months, I was finally able to get up to Business Class on 787 flight using an upgrade.

When I showed up at the gate I was told that business class was checked-in full and that I was 5th on the upgrade list (it’s unusual that the agents even disclose your position on the list). So I thought that I’d be sitting in my Premium Economy seat for this flight, but after boarding was complete the gate agent came onto the plane and gave me a Business Class upgraded ticket! Yay!

IMG_5571

IMG_5579

Above you can see aircraft at gate before loading and my Premium Economy (PY) seat that I was originally assigned before I was upgraded. Even the PY seats are pretty good!

seatmap

As you can see on the seat map I was upgraded to 5G.

Pros: The things I liked about this seat is that it had an extra flat area to store stuff during the flight which some of the other seats didn’t have.

Cons: I could see over the divider where my neighbor was sitting and we were angled towards each-other so it privacy is limited. I also noticed seats 5A and 5K didn’t have windows.

I think in general this was probably one of the better seats in the Business Class cabin.

IMG_5580

IMG_5636

The seat is very comfortable and it’s spacious area.

When comparing it to AC pods (herringbone) config I noticed a few key differences:

  • 787 J has more width to the seat and the space around you; it’s not as confined
  • On the pods you cannot open the tray table with the leg rest up — which is annoying during meal service
  • TV sets on the pods have to be closed for landing / take-off

IMG_5637   IMG_5651

I ended up watching Interstellar on the flight and picture was awesome.

The in-flight entertainment system is the best I’ve ever experienced on any airline! The screen is a massive 18″ which is much larger than any other AC offering. There is a touch screen-remote control as well which you can use to track your flight status on a map while you use the large screen to watch a movie. You can see in the image above I have flight tracker on the tray table off to the left.

IMG_5632

I also noticed that these screens are true HD and widescreen format. Whereas, some of the other AC IFE systems are not HD or stretched-formatted widescreen.

The system is also setup better — making it easier to scroll through movies and grouping series of TV shows together.

IMG_5588  IMG_5646

IMG_5584

The comfort control for the seat is on a touch screen and there a lot more comfort options such as lumbar support and headrest adjustments you can make. It’s much better than AC pods or 777HD which have limited set of controls.

IMG_5633

The foot “coffin” goes deep on this one. There is a large space under the TV set to store your bag. It also offers a lot of space when you put the seat into “lie-flat” mode. It was a day flight so I didn’t sleep but I tried it out and it was quite comfortable.

IMG_5587

Standard menu offering for an AC domestic flight

IMG_5644  IMG_5647

Started out with some Italian Prosecco, sparking water, and mixed nuts. I had to ask them to get the Prosecco from the economy cabin, because they don’t typically offer it to Business class on domestic flight — which I think is bizarre.

For the main course I order the Salmon which was alright. Air Canada could do some more work to improve their meal offers but it’s not bad.

IMG_5611

Hold on, let me take a #selfie before landing!

Leave a comment